Introduction

The Austronesian language family covers the largest geographical area of the world. From the west of Madagascar islands to the east of Easter Island, from the south of New Zealand to the north of Taiwan, there are more than 1,200 languages in the Austronesian language family. These languages share not only similar linguistic characteristics but also similar living environments, social organizations, livelihood models, cognitive system, thoughts and historical development. These commonalities have generated the concept of “Austronesian culture” which serves as the essential basis of international exchanges.

In order to promote the political, social, economic and culture development of Austronesian peoples, and to enhance the collaboration and exchanges among Austronesian peoples, much has been done. To increase the global understanding and respect toward the Austronesian cultures, the Council of Indigenous Peoples has organized the Assembly of Austronesian Leaders since 2002 and the International Austronesian Conference every year since 2003. These conferences invite researchers in the field of Austronesian studies to discuss the regional social development, the inheritance of knowledge, the education and culture, natural ecology and traditional territories, economic development, as well as tourism and cultural industries in this region. We aim at building a dialogue on this platform and operating on a cooperative basis for Austronesian peoples so as to promoting the sustainability of Austronesian culture.

Representatives from home proposed at the Asian-Pacific Parliamentarian’s Union (APPU), calling for APPU member states to cooperate and establish a forum for Austronesian peoples in 2016. The Council of Indigenous Peoples, therefore, reactivated the Austronesian Forum, once suspended for ten years, in 2018. Aside from holding round-table meetings for key political figures from 12 Austronesian countries and regions, the Forum also focuses on the discussion of the following topics, including “Inheriting and Re-creating of Indigenous Cultures”, “Representing Island Perspective History”, “Impartation and Development of Mother Tongues”, “Policies and Mechanisms for the Negotiation and Reconciliation on Land Conflicts” and “Historical Justice and Transitional Justice”. Experts and scholars of various fields are also invited to share their experience in the Forum to increase people’s awareness of these issues facing the Austronesian peoples so as to strengthen the regional links and establish the platform for future agenda and actions.

緣起與目標


「南島語族」為世界上分佈面積最廣的語言家族,整體範圍由西起馬達加斯加島、東至復活節島、南達紐西蘭、北始臺灣,所構成的區域,一共有1,200多種語言,為目前最遼闊的語系區。南島語族各區域族群基於相近系統的語言特徵,相似的生活環境、社會組織與生計模式、認知思想範疇,甚至是歷史過程所延伸發展出來的「南島文化」概念,遂成為本會推展國際交流之重要基礎。

原住民族委員會(以下簡稱原民會)為促進南島族群政治、社會、經濟、文化之發展,加強南島族群間定期合作及交流並提升全球對南島文化之認知與尊重,自2002年舉辦「南島民族領袖會議」,2003年起每年舉辦「南島民族國際會議」邀集南島語族研究領域之專家學者共同與會研討南島語族區域社會發展、知識傳承、教育文化、自然生態與傳統領域、經濟發展、觀光與文化產業等議題。此一定期、常態之國際會議,提供南島語族相關論述交流平台並作為推動永續工作之基礎。

除了前面所提到的會議, 2008年原民會與南島區域8個國家共同成立「南島民族論壇」,惟因故暫停運作10年,2018年原民會秉經我國代表於2016年亞洲太平洋國會議員聯合會(Asian-Pacific Parliamentarian’s Union,簡稱APPU)通過「籲請APPU會員國共同合作,建立區域內南島民族論壇」之提案,賡續辦理「南島民族論壇」,除了與南島等12國家與地區政要召開圓桌會議討論運行機制外,另將針對原住民族文化的銜接和再創造、島嶼主體性史觀、母語的傳習與發展、土地爭議之協商和解政策與機制及「還原真相•實現正義」等相關主題,請各國代表發表實例以分享經驗,期促進各界對南島語族相關議題之認識與掌握,並加強區域連結,進一步架構議題串連交流與行動之平臺。